My Favorite Holidays Are…

Did you know that the first printed reference to a Christmas tree was in 1531 in Germany. Also the Germans made the first artificial Christmas trees out of dyed goose feathers. What to know more click here. Anyway I will tell you about one or more of my favorite holidays! First I will tell you about Christmas. What my traditions are we put up a tree and decaratie it. When it get’s closer to Christmas me and my mom make a lot of cookies to give out. Also we have a Christmas party. We invite a lot of our of our family and friends! On Christmas eve my family gathers together. We would also get together on Christmas later in the day.

Home for the Holidays The Mr and The Mrs via Compfight

Another one of my favorite holiday is Easter. I like Easter because I get to see my family. I also like Easter because I do a Easter Egg hunt with my cousin’s and my brother. One of our traditions is mom makes cookies with an hard-boiled egg in side. Here are two fun facts about Easter. The tallest chocolate Easter egg ever was made in Italy in 2011. 10.39 meters in height and 7,200 in weight, it was taller than an elephant! Also the UK’s first chocolate egg was produced in 1873 by Fry’s Bristol. Click here for more.Creative Commons License Marco Verch via Compfight

Ostereier färbenCreative Commons License Marco Verch via Compfight

Now I will be talking about one more holiday. That holiday is New Years. I like New Years because I get a new start and I can get more organized. I also like it because I can hang out with my friends and family and have a party. Here are two facts about New Years, New Year celebrations are not new. The concept actually dates back to 2000 BC. The Mesopotamian used to celebrate New Year! Also  1st January as New Year was never a standard practice. Romans for instance celebrated March 1 as New Year. Some other cultures went for winter solstice or summer equinox. Click here if you want to see more.

City Hall David Yu via Compfight

I like a lot of holidays but these might be my top 3. Christmas, Easter, and New Years!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *